empowering the future of louisiana agriculture

Louisiana Farm Bureau Foundation Linda & Wayne Zaunbrecher Scholarship

We are vitally interested in having the business of agriculture run by future generations of farm and ranch families. To help achieve this goal, we formed a tax-exempt foundation to award scholarships to deserving students pursuing careers in agriculture. We awarded the first two scholarships in 1993, and since then we have awarded more than 160 scholarships — for a total of over $250,000 to assist graduating high school seniors in their college careers. 

In May of 2019, we will award five $2,000 scholarships to applicants submitted by the parish Farm Bureaus. These winners will be chosen based on grade point average, ACT scores, individual achievement in high school, participation in parish and state Farm Bureau activities, and financial need. The 2019 winners are eligible to receive $2,000 during their freshman year in payments of $1,000 for each semester of the 2019-20 academic year. If this year’s winners remain qualified, they may reapply each succeeding year to continue their scholarships for a total of four years. The amount of money paid to each winner may vary from year to year. 

We invite the graduating seniors of 2019 to review the eligibility requirements. If you plan to pursue a career in agriculture and meet the other requirements, obtain an application from your local parish Farm Bureau, complete it, and return it to that office by the deadline. Each parish Farm Bureau is eligible to submit one application for consideration as a state winner. 

Scholarship applications must be submitted to your local Farm Bureau office by February 28, 2019. For more information contact Marsha Lieux by e-mail or phone at 225-922-6240.

2019 LInda & Wayne Zaunbrecher Scholarship Eligibility Requirements


  • Applicants or their parents must be current members of the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation.

  • Applicants must have earned a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or higher for four years of high school.

  • Applicants must graduate from high school in the spring of 2019.

  • Applicants must attend an accredited Louisiana college or university during the fall and spring immediately following their high school graduation. The scholarship may not be deferred.

  • Applicants must pursue a curriculum in agriculture, vocational agriculture, agribusiness, agriscience, or other curriculum directly benefiting the agricultural sector of Louisiana’s economy.

  • Scholarship winners must earn a minimum grade point average of 2.5 during the first semester and maintain a major course of study in agriculture for the second semester in order to qualify for the second payment.



  • Scholarship winners may reapply to continue receiving their award for the spring and fall terms of each successive year for three additional years. The amount of the scholarship award may vary each successive year.

  • Applicants and/or their parents must maintain membership in the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation.

  • Applicants must have earned at least a 2.5 GPA for the spring term in order to re-apply for the next fall.

  • Applicants must retain a major field of study in agriculture at an accredited Louisiana university in order to qualify for an extension of the scholarship.

  • If an applicant fails to maintain eligibility in any spring term, that applicant may not apply for the succeeding fall term.

2018 Scholarship Winners

Throughout the year, parish farm bureaus across the state host a variety of fundraisers to support the Louisiana Farm Bureau and Ag In The Classroom Foundations, which help fund the future of Louisiana agricultural leaders.


Linda and Wayne Zaunbrecher, are lifetime residents of Vermilion Parish where they have farmed rice and cattle. Prior to his death, Wayne was a Vermilion Parish Farm Bureau board member and Treasurer of the Louisiana Rice Promotion Board.

Linda has served as 3rd Vice President of the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, a member of its board of directors, Chair of the State Women’s Leadership Committee, and a member of the Louisiana Farm Bureau Foundation’s scholarship committee since its inception in the early 1990s. Both have been avid supporters of agricultural education.

To honor their many years of volunteerism and loyal service to Louisiana Farm Bureau, our scholarship is known as “The Linda and Wayne Zaunbrecher Scholarship.”